What we measure

We are keen to measure what is worth measuring:

  • Pupils' personal and social development
  • Pupils' abilities in communicating effectively
  • Pupils' progress in relevant academic, arts and sports subject areas
  • Pupils' independent abilities

We identify pupils' progress through:

  • Formative assessment (diagnostic testing and marking helps form the next areas of teaching/learning),
  • Summative (at the end point - evidencing standards reached) and,
  • Ipsative assessment (progress related to their own development)

As such, assessment is a key aspect of:

  • Celebrating individuals' achievements
  • Enabling others (e.g. employers/college) to build on proven skills, knowledge and abilities
  • Comparing pupils' attainment with similar learners and, neurotypical learners
  • Effectively establishing the levels of support needed to continue learning and making progress
  • Examining the effectiveness of our teaching
  • Evidencing the individual's comparative strengths, from which to build on

Basket of Assessment Measures

Subject-specific testing for baselines and progress analysis

WRIT: Wide Range Intelligence Testing
Testing that is standardised to find a child's IQ score

Hodder Reading Tests
Testing reading to ascertain ability scores that translate to Reading Ages

Vernon Spelling Tests
Testing to find the spelling age of our pupils, with diagnostic results for further practice

External Examinations
Level 1 Qualifications (GCSE 1-3 grade equivalent)
Level 2 Qualifications (GCSE 4-9 grade equivalent)
GCSE 9-1

Reporting to Parents

There are many ways parents and carers are informed of their child's progress over the course of the year. These include:

  • Face to face meetings with parents
  • Letters and information sent home
  • Email correspondence between parents and staff
  • Telephone conversations between parents and staff
  • Reports on progress


We will be challenged by the new GCSE examinations, which are designed for the young person who can retain knowledge, has a good working memory and can access examination situations.

The new GCSEs are linear courses, with no coursework but examinations at the end of a two year course. Instead of grades A*-G, the new GCSEs are graded 1 to 9, where one is the lowest grade and 9 the highest:

The bottom of Grade 1 will equate to grade G
Grade 4 equates to grade C
Grade 7 equates to grade A
Grade 9 is a new standard - above grade A*