Skip to content ↓


What we measure

We are keen to measure what is worth measuring:

  • Pupils' personal and social development
  • Pupils' progress in relevant academic, arts and sports subject areas
  • Pupils' independent abilities

We identify pupils' progress through:

  • Formative assessment (diagnostic testing and marking helps form the next areas of teaching/learning),
  • Summative (at the end point - evidencing standards reached) and,
  • Ipsative assessment (progress related to their own development)

As such, assessment is a key aspect of:

  • Celebrating individuals' achievements
  • Enabling others (e.g. employers/college) to build on proven skills, knowledge and abilities
  • Effectively establishing the levels of support needed to continue learning and making progress
  • Examining the effectiveness of our teaching
  • Evidencing the individual's comparative strengths, from which to build on

The new GCSEs are linear courses, with no coursework but examinations at the end of a two year course.  However, at FHEC we strive to complete GCSEs in one year because of the limited time in the centre.  Work undertaken in the student's onroll school is used where possible to build on and ensure content coverage of specifications.

Instead of grades A*-G, the new GCSEs are graded 1 to 9, where one is the lowest grade and 9 the highest:

  • The bottom of Grade 1 will equate to grade G
  • Grade 4 equates to grade C
  • Grade 7 equates to grade A
  • Grade 9 is a new standard - above grade A*